Looking forward to the weekend? Below are some of the places you can go to and things to do in Makati.

No matter how much we want to be in the beach or in the mountains or in far off interesting places every weekend, limitations enter the picture. But that does not mean we stay in bed and wait for weekend to pass by though I do love to do that on some weekends.

I lived in Makati for eight or so years and in the last month I stayed there, I suddenly felt the desire to see places I never visited or visited only in passing before. Never too late!

Jaime C. Velasquez Park

Jaime C. Velasquez Park is located at Tordesillas St., Makati. Its main entrance is in front of the main entrance of One Salcedo Place.

It’s nice to have a park in the middle of a busy urban community. There are many things you can do in and around Jaime C. Velasquez Park. Just take note of the following reminders in the picture.

There are a number of joggers every morning, mostly residing in condominiums close to the park. People walking their dogs is also a common sight but they do it outside the gates since dogs are not allowed inside.

Thinking of a date in a park? You can do it in Jaime C. Velasquez Park as it has benches and picnic ground, preferably on a Saturday morning so you can head to the market for breakfast or snacks. 

Day out with the kids? Head to this park as it has a playground. Parents will find comfort that this is a gated park so kids cannot easily run to the streets.

Salcedo Saturday Market

Also known as Salcedo Community Market, Salcedo Saturday Market is located inside Jaime C. Velasquez Park. As the name indicates, the market is open every Saturday.

There are stalls selling plants, fruits, vegetables, meat and seafoods, bread, eggs, kakanin, dessert, drinks, cooked viands and meals, pasta, burger and dairy products, among others.

Tables and chairs are available so you can eat breakfast in the market, which I did.

The cost is a bit pricey since the quality of products is high and the target market is middle class and up. But there’s no stopping me, though financially-constrained, to enjoy the cheaper stuff they sell in the market. I ate two corn cobs priced at P25 each. Personal information: I was named after the scientific name of corn (zea maize) so no wonder it’s my favorite.

Here’s my breakfast comprised of rice, Bicol express and lemon juice. Total price is P225.

The place, per the sign I saw in the entrance, is open at 7am. I was there at 6:30am and 3/4 of the stalls are open and people are already buying and eating. By 7am, all stalls are open and it was already a busy marketplace.

Legazpi Sunday Market

On Sundays, the community market moves to the other side of Makati. Legazpi Sunday Market is located at Legazpi Car Park, Herrera St. cor Legazpi St., Legazpi Village. The products sold are similar to those sold at Salcedo Saturday Market.

I prefer Salcedo Saturday Market because it is more organized and the place is cleaner than Legazpi Sunday Market.

In general, I find the prices of drinks and cooked meals at Salcedo Saturday Market cheaper. For a total price of P215, I had this meal – tastier and with bigger serving than the one I had at Salcedo Saturday Market.


Legazpi Active Park

Located at Rada St., Legazpi Village, this park is currently closed and under construction. It is expected to open, with a new and better look in December 2017.

I have been to this park before it went under construction. There were many joggers and same with Jaime C. Velasquez Park, it had a playground.

Washington Sycip Park

Across Legazpi Active Park is Washington Sycip Park.

Remember that game PokemonGo? I first went to this park in September 2016 when I was chasing, catching and battling pokemons.  Since quitting the game, I have a bigger appreciation for the place because I can finally walk around without distraction.

Sycip Park has dozens of trees of various kinds – narra, mahogany, para rubber, palm, bagras, fire and tamarind trees. There is a Japanese “feel” in the place probably because of the kiosks there.

There is a wish stone with the instruction to pick up the brush, dip it in water and write your wish or prayer on the stone… and then let the cosmic forces take it to heaven. I wrote a wish. Let’s see if my wish will be granted.

I saw joggers resting in the benches inside the park. It definitely is my favorite park in Makati.

Ayala Triangle

Located at Ayala Avenue cor Makati Avenue, Ayala Triangle is considered to be at the heart of Makati financial district.

The triangle is a favorite jogging field of many residents of Makati because it is more accessible than the other parks since it’s in Ayala Avenue where jeepneys and buses pass.

I went here more than a dozen times not only to jog (actually, more of walk) but also to meet up with friends for lunch or dinner. There are many restaurats in the triangle – Banapple, Bon Chon, Kanin Club, Oma Kase and Poco Deli, among others.

I did a photowalk in Ayala Triangle a few years back and here’s one of my favorite shots.

Who said beautiful sunsets can be seen only from mountains and along the beach?

Sip and Gogh at Century Mall

Wanna try painting? Sip and Gogh is the place to be. Unleash the artist in you!

Sip and Gogh in Century Mall only opened recently. Last May 2017, while construction of their location in the 4th floor was still in progress, they accommodated sessions in the lower ground floor for a cheaper rate of P800 per person (without drinks). My friends and I attended one session and had fun.

No work of art is exactly the same. We have different strokes, imagination and skills. But all works of art are beautiful.

You can reserve on their Site. The first session starts at 11am and the last one starts at 8pm. Each session normally lasts for two hours. Don’t worry though, if you take longer than that, they won’t kick you out. The staff really make sure that you have an enjoyable experience.

The Zone Sports Complex

Badminton is the only physical sport I can play at close to average level. The rest, I don’t know how or I totally suck at.

Located at Malugay St. cor Sen Gil Puyat Avenue, The Zone has more than a dozen courts. I started playing here with friends in early 2015. There is a snack bar and the restroom is kept clean at all times, which I like about the place. It can be hot inside the building though. But then, when your intention is to sweat, this is definitely the place to be!

 

This is a work-in-progress as I have yet to visit Ayala Museum, Museo ng Makati and Yuchengco Museum. Let me know where else to go and what else to do in Makati!

Though I am no longer a resident of Makati, I will still see it 20 or so days a month since I work there.

I am happy with the move to Manila because it opens an opportunity to see places and do things here! That blog will be up soon.

